Still Believe!

26 May

Still Believe!

When we read the Old Testament, it’s hard to understand how the people back then lost faith when they had so many miracles take place right before their eyes. For example, the children of Israel actually walked across a sea that became dry land just for them (Exodus 14).Yet, as they journeyed through the wilderness, their hearts became hardened and they rebelled against God, and even formed a “let’s go back to slavery” posse (Numbers 14:3). How dumb was that?

Despite the many miracles of provision, deliverance, healing, and restoration in my own life, sometimes, honestly – more times that I would like to admit, I too have felt like giving up. Unlike the children of Israel, I don’t want to go back because I know that there is nothing to go back to. I’ve recognized that I was a real mess without Jesus and that it’s only because of His grace that I am saved today. Yet, I too have experienced doubt.

So, although I am aware of my desperate need and dependence on Jesus, how have I sometimes found myself thinking of quitting, of giving in to depression, oppression and every kind of pressure that comes my way instead of pressing on? During those times,
unfortunately, I have allowed my expectations and subsequent disappointment to take control. I pray and expect that things will go well. But sometimes they don’t. At least, not within the time frame and in the way that I think things should happen.

Because the Lord is in control and knows best, He allows dry seasons in our lives, just as He did with the children of Israel. We wonder if The Lord has forgotten us. Why did He allow this us to enter into this wilderness, this drought, this place where we feel forsaken? Why does He sometimes allow us to enter into a place where there seems to be no rest?

Are you ready for the answers? Let’s go directly to the word of God. Hebrews 3:8-11 specifically addresses our wilderness experiences this way: Therefore, as the Holy Spirit says:” Today, if you will hear His voice, Do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion,
In the day of trial in the wilderness,Where your fathers tested Me, tried Me, And saw My works forty years.Therefore I was angry with that generation, And said, ‘They always go astray in their heart, And they have not known My ways.’So I swore in My wrath,’ They shall not enter My rest.’”Beware, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief in departing from the living God; but exhort one another daily, while it is called “Today,” lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin. For we have become partakers of Christ if we hold the beginning of our confidence steadfast to the end, while it is said:” Today, if you will hear His voice, Do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.”And to whom did He swear that they would not enter His rest, but to those who did not obey?
So we see that they could not enter in because of unbelief. Let us therefore be diligent to enter that rest, lest anyone fall according to the same example of disobedience.

My brother, my sister, within the word of God we find that faith is the key to maintaining strength and hope during our wilderness journeys; that kind of faith that compels us to still believe in spite of our circumstances. As we believe, we enter into rest. No matter what comes our way, nor how dry our season may become, we must not harden our hearts. God is still God. He is still good. And He will never leave us nor forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:6). May we choose to remember The Lord’s faithfulness (II Timothy 2:13) and remind others to do the same. If we’ve allowed oppression, depression and life’s pressures to overtake us, let’s repent and move forward in faith. No matter how hopeless our wilderness may be, let’s choose to still believe!

Leave a Reply

