Strength for the Battle

15 Feb

Day to day battles can leave us weary and tired. Whether your battle is with sickness, unruly children, challenges on the job, or the struggle to pay the bills on time, or a failing marriage, any of these challenges can weaken our resolve to face each day with anticipation of great things to come. No matter what you’re facing, rest assured that the Lord longs to strengthen you for the battle!

Let’s take a look at Psalm 18, which provides us with a biblical example of what takes place when we in our weakness, call upon the Lord our strength.

In this Psalm, David begins by declaring I “WILL” love You oh Lord my strength. Despite his circumstances which included the sorrows of death, ungodly men, fear and the sorrows of hell, David remained focused upon willing himself to love the Lord, not focusing on his trials.

After David called upon the Lord, he drew David out of many waters and delivered him from his strong enemy because he delighted in him.

We too can rest assured that the Lord delights in us, although our trials may beg us to believe that we are forgotten. God loves us so much that He gave His Son Jesus to die on the cross for us (John 3:16). “If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing Himself to the worst by sending His own Son, is there anything else He wouldn’t gladly and freely do for us” (Romans 8:32 Message).

God longs to do for you just what he did for David. He gave David strength for his battle which caused David to pursue his enemies and overtake them. David then destroyed his enemies! Although we may just wish that God would cause our battles to come to a triumphant end, God wants to strengthen our resolve to trust Him through the battle!

According to our example in Psalm 18, the prerequisites for receiving supernatural strength to overcome victoriously are quite simple. We are to ask for strength, believe that we have received it, and remain focused upon loving the giver of the gift of strength, not focused upon the battle.

As God gives us strength for our battles, we gain a more intimate perspective regarding who the Lord is. It is then that we can say like David,
“I WILL LOVE You, O Lord my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I WILL call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies (Psalm 18:1-3 NKJV).

Leave a Reply

