Turning Your Faith Into Gold!

22 Mar

I took a breathe, I sighed! For one brief moment it seemed, if only for a moment, all was well. I recall being thankful that despite health related issues and some financial challenges, I was very blessed and so was my family. It was the calm, just before the storm!

It’s funny how something as simple as a phone call can make the whole world seem to turn upside down. One day a call with devastating news, days latter something else troubling comes up concerning another family member and time loses meaning. What day is it? Lost in the scheme of life’s trials, one day slips into another but loses its name. Is it Monday, is it Tuesday, does it make a difference? Have you ever been there?

In I Peter 1:6-8a, we find the following statement which speaks to such times, “in this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while, if need be, you have been grieved by various trials, that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise honor and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ, whom having not seen you love”.

Please read that scripture once more before going any further. It begins by stating that we should rejoice during times of various trials. I don’t know about you, but I have found it difficult to be joyful when experiencing various trials. Yes, I have continued to worship the Lord through tears during unusually trying times, but joy has eluded me.

Although it felt odd, for the first time in my life, while in the midst of various trials recently, I worshipped and praised God and found peace deep within me. Up until this point, I don’t recall ever experiencing such a plateaus of peace and worship during deep, excruciating pain. I attribute this new found place of peace, not to myself, but to the Lord who answers prayers and to the saints whose prayers really have availed much. Let’s now re-focus on the scripture again.

Another key point that stands out in the passage found in In I Peter 1:6-8a is,”If NEED BE, YOU HAVE BEEN GRIEVED by various trials. A need is something that is necessarily vital to your well being. Based upon the scripture, Sometimes I need, you need, we need our faith to be tested by various trials.

Why would we NEED experiences that break our hearts and have the potential to rob us of our faith? Oddly enough, according to the scripture, the purpose of trials is so that the genuineness (authenticity) of our faith, being more precious than gold, though it is tested by fire, be found to give praise, honor glory to Jesus at His appearing.

When your life becomes inundated with various trials, hold on to your faith, though you may be most tempted to let go. Find a quiet place and allow the peace of God that resides deep within you to exude and calm your spirit. And though you may not understand the details of the whys in the midst of the trials, trust in the God who loves you and is somehow working all things together for your good (Romans 8:28). Pray anyway, although your prayers may seem to reverberate against the walls (I Thessalonians 5:17). Worship anyway (Psalm 34:1). As you hold on to Jesus who loves you more than you can fathom, in time, your faith will come forth as pure gold. (Ephesians 3:17-19).

Leave a Reply

