Do You Believe?

25 Mar

Easter, also known as Resurrection Sunday, is just around the bend. Some are planning to serve special meals, while others are purchasing special clothes and baskets for children. But how do you really feel about Easter?

It’s ok to be honest with yourself. Do you believe that Jesus was crucified for the sins of the world, was buried, and rose again on the third day?

After Jesus rose from the grave, he appeared to the disciples. He showed them His hands and His sides. The disciples were glad that they were blessed to see Jesus alive again!

However, a disciple by the name of Thomas, wasn’t with the disciples when Jesus’ visitation took place. When Thomas later arrived on the scene, the disciples told him about their time time with Jesus. Thomas said to them, “Unless I see in His hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.”” John‬ ‭20:25‬ ‭NKJV‬

Imagine the shock the disciples felt. Here was their very own bother, doubting that what they said was true about Jesus. Thomas was courageous. Some of us might have doubted too and not spoken up, but Thomas was honest. Thomas was in need of a personal experience.

Eight days later Jesus appeared in the place where the disciples were assembled. It was as though He came just for Thomas. “Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, “Peace to you!” Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.” And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” ‭‭John‬ ‭20:26-29‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Just as Jesus reappeared for Thomas, He can do the same for you. You may not see Him physically walk through your door. He may even use another person to speak to you. While reading the Bible, you may sense His presence. Sometimes Jesus ministers to us through songs. He knows how to meet you where you are in a personal way.

This Easter, don’t let your doubt dissuade you from having a personal resurrection experience. Yes Jesus died for you. Yes Jesus wants you to know Him and experience abundant, eternal life. Yes Jesus loves you. Confess how you feel about Him, and ask Jesus to meet you where you are.

Thomas and the disciples believed because they saw Jesus and touched his hands and his side. Blessed are you and I, and we, who have not seen the physical manifestation of Jesus, and yet have believed!

5 Responses to “Do You Believe?”

  1. The WheatandTares March 29, 2016 at 3:39 am #

    Good stuff and so very true! A similar sermon was preached at our church yesterday on this very sermon, but it was Thomas to whom the pastor referred, but rather, himself! It was an awesome message, and I believe it helped so many. Too often, we as Christians, appear to have it all together, never having doubts, sins, concerns or failures, and too often, the world just simply cannot relate to our “pristine perfect message.” It’s high time we become authentic in our faith! Authenticity is a magnet for those hungry for truth! 😉

    • T. Roberts March 30, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

      Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. You are right of course. Some yeArs back, I recall wondering how the children of Israel struggled with their faith despite the miracles until I took a closer look in the mirror. Once I removed the beam from my eye, I realized that I was not much different. Thank ou again for you encouraged me greatly.

      • The WheatandTares March 31, 2016 at 1:08 am #

        I am right there with you. For many years when I was ‘young and dumb’ (haha!), I would grow so angry as I read about the children of Israel, with all of their doubts, whining, complaining and wandering. Then, one day as I was whining and complaining to God, wondering why my grandfather had to die of cancer and how his void in our family sure messed up the whole dynamics, He reminded me of the story of the children of Israel. I was shocked, amazed and humbled at my hypocrisy! Thank God for His love and mercy that shows us a better way! 😉

      • T. Roberts March 31, 2016 at 8:12 pm #

        It’s true God has abundant mercies for us. He remembers our frame, that we are but dust. Amazingly though, what is man that He is mindful of us? We’re it not for His patience and lovingkindness, where would we be? I’m so glad that in spite of me, He is the lover of our souls. I’m also grateful for people like you to walk along side!

      • The WheatandTares April 1, 2016 at 1:09 pm #

        Amen and amen! 😊

Leave a Reply

