Will You Lower the Selfie Stick?

30 Nov

Everyone loves taking selfies. Everyone except me. Whether I angle the phone from the left or right, flaws seem to stare it me, magnified by the camera. Of course I usually end up deleting the picture, and again wondering why most people actually enjoy taking selfies.

Recently I lowered my selfie stick – so to speak. I took a spiritual selfie while reading Psalm 146. I read, “Who executes justice for the oppressed, Who gives food to the hungry. The LORD gives freedom to the prisoners.”‭‭(Psalms‬ ‭146:7‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)

Suddenly I saw myself in a different light. I remembered that the Lord has delivered me from thoughts that once held me captive, negative thoughts that placed me in a personalized prison. I wanted desperately to escape, but could not.

Over a period of time, much prayer and reading the Bible, eventually negative thoughts began to be purged. Psalm 119:130 tells us that the entrance of Your word gives light; it gives understanding to the simple. The light of the Lord’s words in the Bible renewed my mind.

Now I have the ability as well as the responsibility to see others through a different lens as well. Perhaps the person who appears to be struggling with issues that are unlovely desires to be free as I did.

Instead of being quick to judge others, may we lower our selfie sticks (stop focusing on self) and remember to pray for others. If an opportunity presents itself, we can even be used to help others see themselves through a different lens.

It all begins as we lower our selfie stick and recall what we used to look like. It wasn’t pretty. The picture is only better now because we’ve yielded to Jesus Christ who has given us beauty for our ashes. (Isaiah 61). Lower your stick!

Leave a Reply

