Miracle On 34th Street

1 Feb

 
Yes, I know that Christmas has passed. But you’ve seen it haven’t you? It’s a classic movie called “Miracle on 34th Street”. Of course it has a happy ending as a gentleman who works in Macy’s with the name Kris Kringle proves to be none other than Santa. 

Last month, I happened to actually be on 34th street with a couple of co-workers and went with them to Macy’s. The Christmas window decorations were fascinating. The crowd was captivated by the moving figures, the glamor, and the wonder of it all, and so was I.

However, the memories etched in my mind from that day spark emotions that rain upon holiday cheer. We saw an elderly woman sitting on the sidewalk layered in winter gear. Her tattered cardboard sign said “mother & son homeless.” There was no son in sight. Touched by the scene, we gave her money.

As we walked that short distance of only a few blocks, we saw homeless people here, and another there. It had been a while since I visited the city. I was not prepared. I should have had more dollars ready to distribute. I was not prepared to see people lying on the street on top of flattened cardboard boxes in the winter.  

While waiting for the train to leave the city, a woman neatly dressed, within the fifty to sixties age range said hello and smiled. Her makeup was excessive, almost clownish. “Do you have money or food” she asked through her painted lips. “I’m pregnant”, she said. I gave her the unopened snacks I had taken with me that day. 

I prayed, knowing I had not done enough, nor could I do enough for the people that needed help that day. But what would the world be like if each of us did what we could to help at least one person each day? There would surely be more miracles on 34th Street! The people on 34th street, or maybe even on your street are waiting. 

““Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭25:37-40‬ ‭NKJV‬‬ 

Leave a comment